About the Temple Sinai Library

Where would the People of the Book be without a library? The Temple Sinai Library is housed in a bookshelf-lined room created in 2013 by Eric Pedersen of Viking Homes, thanks to a grant from The Alfred Z. Solomon Charitable Trust and the generosity of members and friends. It builds on the original Israel Becker Library, which honored a founding member of the Temple.

Our Collection

The Temple Sinai Library contains approximately 1700 books, including fiction, biography, a wide range of non-fiction, and a small children’s collection. It also has some CDs and DVDs. The Library grows regularly through new purchases and donations and uses the Elazar classification system for Jewish libraries. The Library Committee welcomes suggestions for purchases.

Borrowing Policy

The Library is open whenever the Temple is open, except when classes or meetings are held in it. All members may borrow from the circulating library. Reference books and books in the locked cabinet may only be used in The Library. The small children’s collection, shelved under the Sign-out Folder, may only be used in the Temple.

To borrow books, sign out each book in the Sign-out Folder on the small bookcase next to the door. Check off returns in a column next to your original sign-out and put returned books in the shelf space designated for Returns. The Sign-out Folder also contains a list of the collection and descriptions of featured books.

Non-members are welcome to use the collection in The Library and may apply to the Library Committee for borrowing privileges.

Library Committee

The Library Committee manages The Library, processes new books and culls old ones, and organizes fundraising and other activities. The Committee welcomes new members.

  • Caroline Seligman, Chair
  • Steve Feldman
  • Karyl Maenza
  • Ron Maenza
  • Kirsten Mishkin

The Library Committee welcomes donations of Judaica-related books in good condition but asks donors not to drop off books without first speaking to Patty Cornute, the Temple Administrator, who will contact the Library

The Library Committee wishes to thank Pattie Cornute and Mark Oppenneer for making this link and booklist possible.